Hi I need to find out information

All posts regarding the care and breeding of catfishes from Africa.
Wtd68
Location 1: Shropshire

Hi I need to find out information

Post by Wtd68 »

Hi i have been keeping rift valey cichlids for about 5 years now along with these fish i have also had variouse cat fish from the lake however i purchased some about 3 years ago as Syno Petricola from a shop in Belgium he had the fish in a tank marked up as mixed Syno's.
Well after a few months i discovered that i didn't have petricola!!! but a cat fish which was like syno Multipunctatus however i have frends who have and breed Multipunctatus but they are different to the ones i have. My fish are smaller in size they are about 3" to 4" total length I have been told by one source that they are called Zambian Gold eyes but can find no reference to this species
so does any body know what i have??? I know they coockoo spawn because i am breeding them with some Malawi cichlids but it would be nice to give them an official name.

many thanks

Winston Damerum.
Dinyar
My articles: 3
My images: 228
My catfish: 10
My cats species list: 3 (i:0, k:0)
Spotted: 94
Location 1: New York, NY, USA
Interests: Mochokidae, Claroteidae, Bagridae, Malepteruridae, Chacidae, Heteropneustidae, Clariidae, Sisoridae, Loricariiadae

Post by Dinyar »

The official name is "Synodontis multipunctatus". Fish from the south of the lake (Zambian waters) look a little different from those from the North. "Zambian Gold" sounds like an illegal substance to me, but I have heard similar names for Zambian S. multipunctatus.

Dinyar
Wtd68
Location 1: Shropshire

re reply

Post by Wtd68 »

Thanks but where is the official information about this sub or infact could be new species?
i don't think this is just a colour variation as it is half the size of any of my frends Syno Multipuncs and seems to be more active in the tank.
Dinyar
My articles: 3
My images: 228
My catfish: 10
My cats species list: 3 (i:0, k:0)
Spotted: 94