What Syno am I?

Did you know fantastic help is an anagram of Planet Catfish? This forum is for those of you with pictures of your catfish who are looking for help identifying them. There are many here to help and a firm ID is the first step towards keeping your catfish in the best conditions.
DutchFry
My images: 12
My cats species list: 16 (i:0, k:0)
My aquaria list: 2 (i:2)
Spotted: 9
Location 1: The Hague
Location 2: The Netherlands

What Syno am I?

Post by DutchFry »

Hello there,

a friend of mine has 3 of these, he's been keeping these for over three years now. He would like to know which species it is.

Thanks in advance!
Greetings, Tim
Martin S
I've donated: $20.00!
My images: 9
My cats species list: 90 (i:19, k:0)
Spotted: 17
Location 1: Guildford, Surrey
Location 2: UK
Interests: Aquatics

Re: What Syno am I?

Post by Martin S »

First instinct was - it does look close, and has the same shaped humeral process, but not being a Syno expert, I could be totally wrong!
Martin

[Mod edit: Fix name - Synodontis robbiana is not valid --Mats]
Birger
Expert
My articles: 10
My images: 112
My cats species list: 49 (i:43, k:0)
Spotted: 35
Location 1: Edmonton,Alberta
Location 2: Canada

Post by Birger »

First instinct was Synodontis robbiana - it does look close, and has the same shaped humeral process
My thoughts as well, the dirty glass unfortunately makes it difficult to see just how spotted it is .
Birger
jippo
My images: 102
My catfish: 10
My cats species list: 80 (i:64, k:0)
My aquaria list: 6 (i:3)
Spotted: 38
Location 1: Finland
Location 2: Turku

Post by jippo »

Definetely robbiana, genuine one.
DutchFry

Post by DutchFry »

Thanks a lot! :D
Greetings, Tim
DutchFry

Post by DutchFry »

Guys,

just reported back to the friend of mine. coincidentally the other two Syno's seem to fit the bill of S. robbiana. They are much smaller than the fish in the picture. S. robbiana gets 105 mm SL. The fish in the picture is well over 25 cm TL!