What filter?

Post pictures of your beloved catfish aquaria here. Also good for pictures of your (cat)fish rooms or equipment discussions. If you are posting pictures of identified catfish, please do so in the appropriate husbandry and reproduction forum above.
JONATHAN
Location 1: NOTTINGHAM UK

What filter?

Post by JONATHAN »

i have a 120 lt jewel tank (rekord 120) and i think i have over populated it a little! :oops:
i was was wondering if putting an external filter in the situation with be the best option?
i am a mare student and strapped for cash so what would be the best filter for around 50 pounds (uk) :(
edward
Location 1: london

Post by edward »

jonathan

The best solution is not to overpopulate, but I'm as guilty as the next man there,and I guess you knew that anyway.

An extra filter would be a good idea, particularily if your tank is the type with a built in filter in a black plastic case. I have had the smaller version of this tank (rekord96) and found the supplied filter woefully inadequate for heaviy soiling fish such as catfish.

For the size you have, you could use either an internal filter (e.g. the new fluval 'plus' series, a plus 4 would seem about right) or an external filter such as a fluval or ehiem. My preference is for the second option as the filter area is much larger. I prefer the fluval type, and use a 204 and a 304 in two of my tanks. My local shop (maidenhead aquatics at wembley) has the 204 on offer for about £60.They do have stores over a wide area and on the net, and the wembley staff are very helpful.